Underfloor Heating Questions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am installing wet underfloor heating in a new extension. The existing kitchen already has UHF so I have some experience with a simple system, but I want to check as much as possible before I make expensive mistakes.

I am planning 3 zones to be screeded (by a professional, not me) on the ground floor (1 of which will be a wetroom), the existing zone and 1 upstairs zone (another wetroom) with a biscuit mix. For the falls in the wetrooms, I expect the screed to be laid with the required falls and figure I can do the same with the biscuit mix - although I wonder how dry it needs to be, and whether it'll hold it's shape.

1. For the wetroom on a biscuit mix I've been advised to fix a plywood covering over before tanking and tiling to prevent tiles popping with movement. This feels counter-intuitive as it will insulate, but I suppose it solves the problem of tanking/fixing tiles on a loose material. Is this correct? What thickness do I need and how should I secure it? Screwed to the joists?

2. For the biscuit mix, what sand should I use? I'd think sharp sand for a concrete but if it's not for structural strength, would builders sand have less air between particles and therefore better conduction? Incidentally, I happen to have a load left over from another job :)

2. How high should I fit the manifold? I guess it should be the highest point to avoid trapped air in the loops. However one zone will be above it - I suppose I could put the manifold in that room but only if it's a big deal. The utility room below is a much more suitable location otherwise.