VCL that doesn't block sound

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hiya, thank you for reading this :) I have no experience with vapour control layers at all so just after some guidance from Ye Knowledgeable Folks, please? I want to imprison my Alexa in a hole in the bathroom (already checked on the electrics side of this on another thread) and it was suggested I protect her using a vapour barrier. She's deaf as a post anyway (or she hates me - could be either) so I don't want to deaden the sound and make her even less responsive and I want to be able to hear her too. So, my question is: are all vcls much of a muchness or is there one that would be particularly suited to letting sound but not moisture through? I'd be very grateful for any guidance! :)

Sponsored Links
You're gonna stick an Alexa in a little cubbyhole and have a bit of vapour barrier covering up Alexa? Won't that look like crap?

That's tickled me - clearly the way I've made it sound does seem like it'll look crap. However, I've got a vent cover to go over the front of the hole, which I think looks nice :) just looking to see if installing a vapour barrier on the inside of the cover is a viable option. Any ideas of a vapour barrier that wouldn't stop sound travelling through at all, please?

As sound travels through air then any vapour barrier will stop air movement so how will sound get through unhindered? Why don't you just see how long your Alexa lasts in the environment? You can get waterproof speakers that connect to Alexa but obviously don't have the full Alexa range of commands available but then perhaps you want to add toilet roll to your shopping list whilst your crimping one out.

Sponsored Links
The imagery! ...

Good plan though! As I said - know nothing about vapour barriers so there could have been some weird and wonderful option out there but yeah, if there's not I'll just see what happens... Thank you ☺️

The imagery! ...