Was the outbuilding CU change necessary?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Due to faults / issues found on house CU (bypassed RCD and radial / ring-main circuits (all in 2.5mm2) on one 32A MCB for example) the CU has been changed to a high integrity metal Wylex with a mixture of RCD and RCBO protected circuits

One of the RCD protected MCBs feeds (via SWA cable) to an outbuilding (approx 35m)

In the outbuilding was a two way CU (lights and power) but no RCD protection.

I was advised that for the outbuilding to conform to 18th edition all circuits had to be RCD protected, so a new CU was installed at a cost of £500+VAT

But as the MCB in the house, from which this outbuilding CU is fed, is already RCD protected was this necessary?

Regards

Chris

Sponsored Links
Not sure if it was necessary, (doesn't appear to have been but I am not an electrician), and to charge £500 to supply and fit a replacement 2 way with RCD seems to be a massive rip off to me.
How long did it take them to change it out for the new one? I would imagine 2 hours maximum and that would include testing for that that particular section.

... One of the RCD protected MCBs feeds (via SWA cable) to an outbuilding (approx 35m) .... In the outbuilding was a two way CU (lights and power) but no RCD protection. .... I was advised that for the outbuilding to conform to 18th edition all circuits had to be RCD protected, so a new CU was installed at a cost of £500+VAT. But as the MCB in the house, from which this outbuilding CU is fed, is already RCD protected was this necessary?
Definitely not. As you say, all of the circuits in the outbuilding are RCD protected (by the RCD in the house), which is all that the regulations require. Furthermore, it's very probable that you don't actually need a CU at all in the outbuilding, let alone a £500 one.

I'm afraid that you have definitely 'been had'.

Kind Regards, John