Which Mitre Saw?

Sponsored Links
So far quite impressed, but:

The saw arrived with sawdust on it and grubby marks around the blade housing, FFX assure me it was new so offered to either replace if or refund me £15. I took the £15.

The preset mitre locks are a little sloppy, not a lot but still not quite bang on so you can lock it anywhere in the sloppy part so you never know what angle you are locking it to and also you can never repeat the same angle. I am a precision engineer by trade so not sure what passes for acceptable in the wood working trade. I will have a closer look at it though to see if there is anything I can do improve this.

Also the laser doesn't really line up with where the blade cuts, not just laterally but also the angle is different, again I need to have a look at this.

Anyone know if there is fine adjustments that can be done to the laser or this saw in general? Admittedly I've not yet had a good look at it as I put it to use right away and built my workbench at the weekend.

Surpised at FFX - Have used them quite a bit and always found them to be top notch.

I haven't got your particular saw but, whilst researching a new saw, I read hundreds of reviews of all makes and models and it seems that your saw does suffer from excessive play as you describe. If you read a few reviews online you will see the same moans as you have. Also see the 2 clips below (albeit these refer to the PLUS model, I think they are the same problems as the M model you have)

AFAIK, you can adjust the laser - see the last section of the IM

http://youtu.be/sMMzvOsZqas

http://youtu.be/x24b_qa1JX4

Sponsored Links
Thanks I did check the reviews and those videos actually but figured I'd just mend and slack I found. Mine doesn't have as much as in those videos but it's still enough to annoy me. Will have a close look and also have a look at adjusting the laser.