Garage Conversion into Kids Play Room/2nd Living Room.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there, everyone. Newbie here :)

I hope someone can give me some advice. As the subject line says me and my wife decided to make our Garage into a Kids Play Room/2nd Living Room for our 3 sons and their pals when they come round. As there is never a struggle for off road parking and in the 3 years or so that we have lived here, we have NEVER used the garage for either of our 2 cars, so it seemed an obvious thing to do.

The Garage is not adjoining the house (its about 10 yards away) and was approximately a 35 sq mtr room, so fairly big. Basically we have insulated it (walls and roof), put a couple of 40" TVs on the wall with Sky/XBox etc, small snooker table, carpet tiles, few pictures on the wall, sofa and a fridge. Upgraded existing Single Glazed Window to a Double Glazed one, and also new PVC Door. Behind the garage door is now an insulated wall with glass wool between it. So from the outside the Garage looks as it was, so doesnt really effect any neighbours. Even with the TV/XBox volume high its pretty much soundproof, even at night.

Ok so here are my concerns........

1) Do we have a duty to inform the council? (i am guessing YES!)

If YES and we DO inform them: is that liable to be another 40 or 50 quid a month in Council Tax?

If YES and we DONT inform them and they find out later: can they calculate that you were due to pay x mount of £s extra and they chase you for back money? If so how far back can they go? few years?

2) If the council come round and say they want to examine and re-evaluate our property can they look at our garage and the insulation and make reference to the fact that we never went through any building regulation warrants etc? and get into the nitty gritty of insulated roofing etc etc. Could they say put it back the way it was??!!