Garage into an office advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Everyone,
My virgin post, be gentle... :eek:

I am an uber newbie and I made the mistake of going on the online application at the gateway website and got completely lost! :oops:

Here's what I need to do. I am currently operating from an office in town center but business is very slow and I am losing money.
I am a therapist and I have a large garage at home. It is offset from the house but joined to the side wall by only a few feet.
It has a water supply.
It has a separate door to the rear.
It has double glazing
Looks like the back wall is double bricked but the rest looks like single.
It has a pitched roof, so enough to insulate and plasterboard.

If I create the office it will be approx 18ft by 10ft.
It also has a ready made room at the back with a soil pipe already installed.

Here are my questions.
1. Do I need a change of use rather than planning?

2. will I need building regs (I assume I will) and where can I find what to do to pass the regs?

3. Is there anywhere on the net that has a walkthrough from start to finish of how to do this? I spoke to my local council, but they were more interested in trying to get me off the phone?

4. I will be seeing clients at the office so will this cause problems (Only 2 or 3 a day, and there is a car port for them to park)

My office lease runs out in March 2012 so I need to get my skates on.

The planning portal started asking all sorts of questions about retail space gained living space lost etc, but I really haven't a pot of glue?

Any help or advice would be awesome!!

Best regards

Chris

Sponsored Links
You wont normally need planning permission for running a business from home.

The test is really how much the business impacts on the neighbours - specifically in your case it will be comings and goings and traffic/parking .. but three customers a day would not be deemed an issue