how do i sort this wall out?

Sponsored Links
Do i need to use a waterproofer? or would multi-finish and a good coat of paint be enough. the bathroom has an extractor so shouldn't get too damp.

I've attached a close up pic of the dodgy wall, it seems well stuck to the brick/blockwork but has a loose surface and sandy bits drop off when i run my hand over it.

That looks like lime to me but hard to be certain, could be a really sandy or failed render. Have you any plans to tile the wall at all?

That looks like lime to me but hard to be certain, could be a really sandy or failed render. Have you any plans to tile the wall at all?

I don't think it'll get tiled, its a rental property and the landlords not going to spend money on stuff like that.

Sponsored Links
thats what i was thinking, was leaving this one for peaps to see what he suggests

Yeah lime plase ter needs to be able to breath. Im no expert on this so cant possibly give advice. Peaps is the lime expert on here. He will probably be along tomorrow if hes not busy

If its a rental and the landlord isn't gonna want the expense and hassle of having lime put on then just glue it up and skim it, if you don't then someone else will.

do i have to do anything different if it's lime? will it react with finish plaster?

It looks like lime and you would be best to replace it with lime. You would be ill advised to use any gypsum based plasters in the bathroom but you could dry line it out and skim, this would be the quickest and cheapest alternative...

You can skim over lime but you need to use thistle board finish with a touch of lime in it. Make it into a slip like you would clay and put in half a coffee cup of lime slip per bag. This will allow the skim to breath ;)

You can get away with a 5-1-1 mix with a 4-1-1 scratch coat then skim. This would work better if the wall is a cavity brick wall.