DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

WHAT CONTACTOR IS THIS ?

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
learner123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 1:36 pm Reply with quote

Hi all,

Please can someone tell me what contactor this is as i need to get a replacement,
Have been told they don't make these any more so what could i use as a replacement,

Any help would be great,

Thanks in advance.



Last edited by learner123 on Mon May 14, 2007 1:45 pm, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 36242
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1288 times

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 1:39 pm Reply with quote

no idea, I can't see it.

Did you intend to attach a picture?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
learner123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 1:46 pm Reply with quote

lol sorry forgot to add that ha-ha
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 36242
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1288 times

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 2:02 pm Reply with quote

you need to know what the loading is.

looks to me like 3-phase, no switched neutral.

Does it operate a/c? Motor? Or what?

Is it switched by a timeswitch or thermostat or something?

I don't see any on/off buttons.

Is the old one on a DIN rail or screwed to case?

Once you know its characteristics, should be easy to select a replacement.

Is there a "favourite" make of switchgear or DBs in the installation? Start by looking at the same make (unless rubbish icon_lol.gif )
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
learner123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 2:11 pm Reply with quote

It is run on a three phase system,
Running a air con unit

Thanks
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 36242
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1288 times

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 3:01 pm Reply with quote

No need to answer my other questions if you don't feel like it icon_rolleyes.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
learner123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 3:18 pm Reply with quote

Sorry Johny D

I couldn't answer your questions as i don't have the answers.
I have been sent the picture and asked if i could get a replacement.
All i know is it is feeding an air con unit in the ceiling of a room
And that it is on a 3 phase supply.

I sent the picture to crabtree and they said it is not one of there's so im stuck

I wasn't being rude as im sure that is what it look liked, sorry. icon_lol.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ColJack

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 11773
Location: West Midlands,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 408 times

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 3:21 pm Reply with quote

looks like telemecanique ( sp? )
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
david1805

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 84
Location: Cambridgeshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 3:31 pm Reply with quote

My money is on it being Klockner Moeller.

Regardless, you need to know the size of the unit being controlled in Kw and the control voltage of the coil.

A contactor from any mainstream manufacturer will do the job, don't forget you also need to buy the auxiliary contacts, as can be seen on the right of your picture. Need to get someone to verify whether they are normally open or normally closed.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
learner123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 3:32 pm Reply with quote

Thanks coljack

Any chance of any more detail's you can give me?

where can i get one?

Im looking all over the place, icon_confused.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ColJack

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 11773
Location: West Midlands,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 408 times

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 3:38 pm Reply with quote

can't really tell without a clearer photo of it what make it is, ask for some more close ups, and see if you can get a shot of any writing on the sides....
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
THRIPSTER

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 292
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 8 times

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 3:41 pm Reply with quote

Find out what it is switching noting the power consumption and then select a suitable alternative from a range of manufacturers - we cannot advise remotely given the little information you have provided.


If you get stuck, then contact a local, friendly commercial electrician.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
learner123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 3:50 pm Reply with quote

the only writting i have been sent that is on it is as follows:

TC1,,,,,,,, D6511(or D65II),,,,,,,,TC
21nc or could be 2inc
13NO

Thanks for all posts so far.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
passerv

from United Kingdom

Joined: 10 May 2007
Posts: 47
Location: Southampton,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 4:05 pm Reply with quote

Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ch427

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 2419
Location: Cardiff,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 225 times

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 4:17 pm Reply with quote

somewhere like rs components is your best bet,it looks like you have 1 normally open and 1 normally closed contact but you need to determine coil voltage and load as already mentioned
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
4 pole contactor for 2 heating supplies??? 4 300 Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:48 am
help with contactor diagram 6 340 Thu Sep 23, 2010 7:29 am
Wiring a contactor 20 14520 Wed Nov 11, 2009 12:47 pm
changover contactor for auto-supply change on boiler 9 960 Sat Oct 17, 2009 8:04 pm
Ring circuit and emergency stop buttons on a contactor 16 1080 Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:18 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.