Potterton Prima - intermitant fault - PCB...???!!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'm new to this forum after doing a bit of research on the net. It appears to be an excellent source of info.

I have an intermittent problem (the best sort) with my Potterton Prima 60F boiler. About five years ago it played silly buggers (it really was doing quite inexplicable things!) and a replacement pcb cured it.

This time the problem is, the solenoid to the main gas valve appears to go through a cycle of shutting on and off at high speed (rattles like anything). I assume that its the signal i.e the pcb. This rattle can come and go when it pleases (sounds painful!). But guess what I am no engineer and unlike the last one who left his bill without curing the problem am at a loss - like him a professional. Could be this, could be that... tadada etc. no help + bill (he came recommended!).

This high speed rattle also sounds as if its a loose electrical connection, but it is the solenoid going into spasms (main burners erratic).

I hope that this is enough info for all those guru's out there.

Many thanks in advance

Lee

Sponsored Links
Its not possible for me to advise you as I would have to test the boiler to see if its the solenoid or the PCB.

I do have to say that I have encountered intermittent solenoids on the White Rogers gas valves which I think are usually fitted to your boiler.

Tony

Hi Tony

Many thanks for your thoughts.

The engineer had advised me that the solenoid is fine as either it works or it doesn't. Who am I to argue...

The symptoms relate to the solenoid which with the above point in mind led me to believe it was the signal (pcb). I'm just a practical office boy with soft white hands!

Changing the soleniod would be the chepeast and first point of call though. Any online suppliers recommended?

thanks

Lee

Tony