Wiring ceiling lights to a plug?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm new here and hoping someone can point me in the right direction.
Now before I start I'm not an idiot, I have some experience working with small electrical components and wiring but short of wiring plug have never tried wiring anything to mains and my understanding of how it works is... limited to say the least.

What I'm looking to do is install a number of fluorescent strip lights in a cupboard in the corner of a flat I've recently moved into.
The lights are designed to be permanently wired to mains and ceiling mounted, unfortunately theres no wiring where I want to put them, and no access to install any without pulling half the ceiling down.

I was hoping it would be possible to wire them to standard plugs and run an extension lead from a socket on the other side of the room(it seems the only viable solution). Is this possible?

A friend has suggested I could just wire them to a 13amp plug with a switch in the middle and it should work. I'm not so sure, can anyone advise?

(I realise this is probably a stupid question, but I really don't know and don't know where to start on finding out - please humour me!)

Sponsored Links
A 13A plug fused at 3A and then wired to the lights should not be a problem, provided it is done properly. You can use a standard light switch in a single gang backbox if you want, but make sure the cables are properly supported and terminated and you have a continuous earth path between the plug and the light fittings. A better option might be to use flex with an inline switch.

Does this "cupboard" also require ventilation, tin foil, plant pots etc? :rolleyes: