Leaking Flat Roof

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have recently discovered my wimpy chalet style house has a leak in the flat roof. I have only been in the house for 4 months. On discovering the leak I went onto the roof to find that it has seen better days and has been patched up considerably already.

Can anybody suggest some advice on the best course of action. I'm hoping I can seal it enough until the summer(time will tell) but was wondering about a new felt covering, or fibreglass covering or epdm rubber or modifying the roof using a frame and making the flat roof pitched(this may have a name and isn't something I've seen before) but I can't see why it can't be done. The pitched roof would also have the advantage of giving me the ability to insulate the roof, as the current flat roof basically has no insulation which is about half my roof area.

I suspect a diy job is not really an option for this problem, as I have never done anything like this before.

All suggestions greatly received. I live in Renfrew by the way if anyone can suggest good local roofing companies.

Sponsored Links
Thanks for that link its a lot cheaper than some of the other stuff I've seen. I've put some bitumen based paint(that I had in the garage) on for the moment and it appears to have sorted the leak at the moment but I'll buy some decent stuff(and put that on, as soon as its dry and a weekend) in the hope that it lasts till the summer. Regardless, I need to sort the roof more permanently.

I've found more leaks(all weeping through slowly, not torrents) now that I have looked more thoroughly.

Therefore to narrow down the discussion some what. Is there a reason that people don't put pitched roof's onto wimpy chalet style 1970's flat roofs. I can't really think of a reason why this can't be done, but I have never seen it on this style of house, therefore suggesting there is a reason for not doing it. Is it too costly? Is it frowned upon by councils? Is it not possible? etc.etc