Plumbers & Electrician's Hourly Rates

Which are you?

• I'm a plumber.

Votes: 22 47.8%
  • I'm an electrician.

Votes: 11 23.9%
  • Hell... I can do both :) (qualification wise)

Votes: 13 28.3%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just wondering what you guys charge when you are charging an hourly rate?

Just to get an idea of ratio on the forum I've made a poll too :)

Sponsored Links
I've selected plumber, but really I am just a gas heating engineer.

I charge £60 for the first hour (locally) then £40/hr afterwards all plus VAT.

Sponsored Links
how long is a piece of string?

different rates for different places i can charge what i like for certain jobs others where the competition is fierce i have to work for sod all nearly.
i can rip off people in Sandbanks, but wouldn't get away with it in any other area. :LOL:

45 1st hour if job 1 or 2 hours.

otherwise 30/hour, 220 for 8 hours worked day. all +vat

I'm thinking of upping my rates though.

You'd probably be better off with an annoynous poll ie select 0-30, 31-40 etc, as many tradesmen are secretive and/or variable, ie I've quoted rewires competitively but when the clients asked the labour rate I'm "charging" twice as much! customer told me a while back her simular overall quote man claimed he would work day rate for £140! I said if he does a good job give me his number! London rates BTW.

Then I tried to get someone out to pot a pyro for me (no tools myself) and found that £100+ for the first hour was wanted -okay fine- and then they couldn't be bothered to show up.

no wonder customers are confused and wary :rolleyes:

£45 an hour basic rate for short jobs, parking/ town tax not included.
Theoretically going down to £30 an hour for whole month uninterrupted in one place. Never happens though.
Jobs/clients that I like get better rate, those I don't fancy get higher quote.
If the address is in an area with traffic/parking, or other problems, the price goes up as well.