Mercedes Viano Air suspension - Replace with springs??

Sponsored Links
Can you give any more info as to the problem? The air suspension system should work with a high degree of reliability. Of ten faults are misdiagnosed.

Sponsored Links
Had a new air pump fitted 18 months ago, to the tune of £1400.

About 6 months ago a friend of my wife (who is about 20 stone) got in the back.

The indicator light for the air suspension came on, the suspension did not completely drop until about 3 months ago.

Despite trying to operate the self levelling switch and go through the routine set out in the manual it will not even rise slightly.

I am an electrician so with some 'guidance' could check the electrical system but I cannot even locate the pump!!!

Ok ts is going to be a long one!

Essentially the system ( though I don't know the Mercedes one intimately) works as follows.

You have a compressor which has a drier in it ( like air con) etc. There will be valve blocks to distribute the air, a resevoir, a control unit and some sort of height sensor, possibly 4 of them.

Firstly you need to get the ecu memory read and list the fault codes and what they relate to.

The nextthing to do is to check for air leaks ( soapy fairy liquid) on all joints and air springs and all over the resevoir.

Next I'd look at the calibration. By this I mean with an empty load, measure the height from the centre of the wheel hub to the top of the wheel arch. I think they should se within 10 mm of each other. If not then the system ecu will need to be told what they are so as to allow the offsets.