Header tank constantly dripping but not overflowing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I am a complete novice when it comes to DIY so apologies if I use the wrong terminology. I have recently moved into an ex authority house (1970's mid terrace) and have had a few problems related to the plumbing. My main cold water tank and header tank are located in a cupboard on the same floor as my bedrooms and bathroom. The header tank is above the cold water tank and very difficult to get to due to it being too high to get to and messy plumbing. I can only see whats going on in there with a torch and a mirror. Anyway the water level in the tank seems to be well below the overflow pipe yet the inlet connected to the ball valve is constantly dripping, 24 hours a day. Every time I look, the water level is always about the same yet it's got to be draining somewhere as the water level isn't rising?

I initially thought there might be a leak from one of the radiators but there are no signs of dampness by any of them, downstairs the floor is concrete so the plumbing is all above the floor and all looks fine. There are no damp patches on the ceiling and everything else appears normal. Any ideas?

Sponsored Links
I'm not sure what you are describing. Usually the header tank that is filled with cold water from the mains is located about the hot water cylinder. I'm assuming this is what you are referring to.

A slow drip can take ages to raise the level in a header tank noticeably & and that's if no water is being used for several days.

Lift the ballcock up with your hand and hold it for a few seconds to see if the dripping stops. if it doesn't then you probably just need to re-washer it.