Restoring wood block floor

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi. Can anybody help me. I am in the process of buying a house. I am pretty sure that under the carpets on the ground floor there is original wood block flooring. The present owner tells me that the wood block was skimmed before laying the carpets but hasn't told me what materials were used. I think it may be concrete. (contracts haven't been signed yet so I can't go in and start ripping up carpets to see for myself !) :)

I would love to restore the floors to their original glory. I am a complete novice in DIY but am willing to put a lot of effort into it. I am trying to find out how difficult it would be to restore wood block that has been skimmed before I set my heart on carrying out the work.

Thanks for any help or advice.

Sponsored Links
If the floor has been screeded over, or some form of self-levelling compound has been used, I wouldn't set your heart on being able to recover the wood block flooring underneath without an enormous amount of work, which could involve taking up all the wood, cleaning it off and relaying it.

And if the wood was covered up, it's likely that this was done because it was in poor condition; depending on how well the work was done, the screed you have now may not be very stable with such a substrate.

You could experiment by tackling a small area and seeing how you get on.

If you do manage to expose the wood blocks from underneath the screed/concrete, this guide might help you bringing back the wood floor to its original lustre.

Sponsored Links
xerxes and woodyoulike