Supplementary bonding sounds dangerous!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I know that supplementary bonding is supposed to be safe, I get the Faraday Cage analogy, and I've read the DIYNOT wiki but I'm still struggling with the principle. According to the Electrical Safety Council, the definition is as follows:

"Supplementary bonding
The connecting together of the metal parts of electrical equipment (such as a heated towel rail) and the metal parts of a non-electrical item (such as pipes) to prevent a dangerous voltage between them, if a fault occurs. May be required in bath and shower rooms."

So if a fault does occur, the heated towel rail becomes live. Since it's connected to the bath taps through the supplementary bonding, presumably the taps are also live. So you could be sitting in water, in the bath, touching a live tap...

Doesn't sound particularly safe to me.
Can anyone explain why it is?

Sponsored Links
I'm not an expert on this, but it would have to be a serious fault to make everything live - if a fault occurred in one piece of equipment, any fault current should flow through the CPC of something else due to the supplementary bonding. Also, even if everything were to go live, the point is that you only get a shock due to a potential difference, i.e. being in contact with two things at a different potential, if everything is at the same potential (be it earth or 240V) you can't get a shock...

ok, so a scenario for you ( and a recent real one at that.. )

through some fault, the towel rail casework ends up live and doesn't blow the breaker.. ( screw through a cable severing the upstream cpc and connecting the downstream to live say.. )

if your heater isn't bonded to everything else, and you happen to be running a bath and brush your bum against the still live heater then you've got 240V against your bum, and your hands on a tap that will be at, or close to earth ( through the pipes back to the main bond at the stop cock )