Glow Worm 18hxi F1 fault

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I've just moved into a new house with a Glow worm 18hxi boiler. I keep getting an F1 fault and it turns itself off. I have little info on the boiler and the estate agent (its a rented property) says I need to check the pressure of the system before they will send someone out to help, and then not help me with how I do that! :evil:

How do I check the pressure, being a complete newbie to central heating as my previous house had storage heaters?

I read some where that it could be the PCB(?) a filter box or a seal somewhere. Does anyone have any experience of this and what I can do to check the pressure?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
The hxi is supplied as open vent so may not have pressure gauge. Look in your loft, if there is a small 4 gallon tank connected then there is no pressure to be read.

Thanks Tibbot. I have looked in the loft and there is nothing, as this is a 3 storey house, I have the water tank on the middle floor. In the cupboard are two smaller tanks, see below:

Is it the white one? What else can I check with the boiler to see what is faulty?

in your pic, to the right of the pressure gauge (on the red expansion vessel) is a silver braided hose

follow this hose until you come across a 1/4 turn black handled valve

open valve slowly until gauge pressure reads 1.5 bar

Sponsored Links
Thanks for that, there are two 1/4 turn valves on this hose. Have turned them both slowly to open and the pressure has gone up, but only to 1.1. I've put the heating on and turned it up but it isn't going up.

Is 1.1 bar satisfactory?

If I was not a boiler engineer then I would have been surprised that a tennant cannot find and read a pressure gauge.

Now, I am never surprised about what tennants cannot do.

In fact its what tenants DO that encourages some landlords to remove the flexible silver hose to prevent tenants over presurising systems!

Tony

in 99.99% of times its more than ample