Brittany Combi SE80 No Hot Water PLEASE HELP!!!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I wonder if anyone can help me? My family and I have had no hot water for three weeks now. Although I'm not a plumber, I am a marine engineer so am not a complete incompetent.
I have a fault on my SE80. The CH works fine but I get no hot water at all. It's not the PCB because I've replaced it. I've also replaced the diaphram which looked in fairly good condition but it was only a fiver so I replaced it anyway. I also replaced the flow control valve which was in a poor state. I also stripped down the whole black plastic valve housing and cleaned it all. I saw no obvious problems other than the flow control valve.
Symptoms:
No fault codes.
No leaks.
1) With CH turned off.
When the hot tap is opened the diaphram depresses the plunger which engages the microswitch. The PCB display lights then flash in the sequence which tells you that it has engaged DHW mode, however the flame does not ignite.
2) With CH turned on.
When the hot tap is opened the diaphragm depresses the plunger which engages the microswitch. The flames which were blazing away (because CH is on) then cut out (because DHW is overriding the CH).

So it can't be a fault with the gas/solenoid side of things because CH is working fine. It's not a PCB fault and I don't think it's a diverter or secondary heat exchanger issue because the flame is not igniting at all. It's not the microswitch because the valve depresses and engages it which successfully switches the boiler to DHW mode (apart from no flame ignition!)
Could it be the thermistor? If so which one as my manual tells me that DHW uses both themistors. Or the the pressure switch? I don't want to keep chucking money at the thing. And I really badly need to bath myself and the kids!

Sponsored Links
Have you checked the system flow switch is operating, with a meter?

Tony

Have you checked the system flow switch is operating, with a meter?

Tony