looking/investigating to install double glazing.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I'm looking to put double glazing into my semi detached house. before i go into any specific's would appreaciate any help from anybody who has had doble glazing installed...

I am a widow and previously my husband took care of all the diy and any renovations to the house....thus it is my turn to take charge and install double glazing.....

If any body could give me a few hints about how I should intiate this project will be most appreaciated.

I intend to use contractors, either resourcing the materials and windows myself on the internet, or looking for contractors who can supply and fit....

I've had a couple of quotes and the option to use contractors who supply and fit is out of my budget and would like info or advise about resourcing windows and any other info if I were to organise it myself.....

Thankyou for any help...

If i've left out any information, it is because I am new to the forum and not used to using forums, but my son has encouraged me to do it for myself and use the diynot forum....thankyou....Tiat....

Sponsored Links
Unfortunately the dg industry is riddled with crooks and bodgers. Don't be misled by the big names who advertise a lot as, even though the product may be ok, they may sub-contract the work to someone who hasn't got a clue about correct fitting. The best deal can be from someone who works on their own and gets work by recommendations from previous customers.