Advice needed on how to Repair some Plaster

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I have been getting our walls ready for when we plan to wallpaper them in the next month and above our window alot of plaster has fallan off (See pic below). We have asked our local council to repair this but have been told around 9 week wait so i have decided to look into repairing this ourself.

The problem is i have never done any plaster work before so what is the best way to tackle this and how do i go about repairng the best way ready for wall paper.

4558754142_7c1aceec62.jpg

4558125555_d305a2ac96.jpg

Also we have another area which is on our celling near our roof hatch which leaked last year that needs replacing with plaster as its started to fall off. How is the best way to replace this and re plaster.

Sponsored Links
With small areas like that I wouldn't bother with wet plaster. Use some filler instead and sand down.

in the first pic take the wood off the wall that was probably holding the curtain pole then get a bag of one coat and a straight edge damp the wall down or use diluted pva then apply the one coat then rule off with the straight edge till level with the existing plaster in the second pic are you on about the plaster that is missing around the join between the wall and the ceiling? if so apply the one coat to this as well one coat is ideal for patching and user freindly for an amature

Cheers for the tip,

So when i remove the wood and anymore lose plaster do the following.

1, Damp wall down with diluted PVA with a brush to help it bond to wall better.

2. Mix some 1 coat plaster and then apply using a stright edge etc and level

3, allow to dry for a week or so and sand

Is the above correct

Chris