DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Diplomat Dishwasher ADP8322

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Appliances
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ferengi

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Lanarkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 10:21 pm Reply with quote

Dishwasher has been playing up. Wouldn't take in water, kept pumping until it gave error (4 flashes). Found failed inlet valve so replaced. Now it runs through full cycle but arms do not spin. Sounds like it's pumping water round the system but just not getting any oomph in it. It is hard to hear exactly 'cos the water heating is bubbly noisy.

Checked the pump for connectivity (passed) and cleaned it out (was greasy round the impeller) but no change.

Any ideas?

D
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
ferengi

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Lanarkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:31 am Reply with quote

These are the numbers off the label, if they're any help...

8545 000 15819
33 0602 001158

Can anyone tell me what resistance reading I should get across the terminals of the circulation pump?

Any other ideas, folks?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
zipper

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 2789
Location: Aberdeen,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 505 times

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 7:35 pm Reply with quote

Hmmm...I seem to remember seeing these numbers someplace else? icon_biggrin.gif
4 flashes (F4) indicates a pump issue, it seems very strange you found a defective inlet valve, that would normally prompt an F6 error. What was wrong with the valve?
Although your machine says Diplomat on the door it is in fact manufactured by Whirlpool. A few things to suspect would be: spray arms blocked, pressure loss, wash motor capacitor faulty, impeller jammed/defective, or a motor fault. Before condemning the wash motor first determine it is actually running, then check the spray arms are not blocked. There are a couple of other things to look at but check these first.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ferengi

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Lanarkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:00 pm Reply with quote

You're a perceptive one! icon_redface.gif

I put a multi-meter on it and got infinite resistance so swapped it out. When I did that it happily ran through a cycle (albeit that it didn't spin/ wash) without giving an error. Weird, huh?

What's the easiest way to be sure if the pump is running? Can I run it with all the panels off? That way I can eyeball the pump I suppose (although it's not easily seen clearly when the machine is not on its side). How would you do it?

I'll have another look at the arms. I know the arms themselves are clear but perhaps the system feeding them... icon_confused.gif

Regards

D
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
zipper

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 2789
Location: Aberdeen,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 505 times

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 6:39 am Reply with quote

The inlet valve resistance should measure around 3.8k ohms (3800 ohms).
Do you mean checking the drain pump or the wash motor? You can observe if the wash motor running by removing the right hand side plate. But you can get easy access to almost all the components by lying the machine on its back & removing the bottom plate (2 screws/2 plastic clips). You will see the drain pump attached to the left hand side of the sump (twist fitted). Take it out & check for pieces of glass etc. There is also a rubber non return flap fitted in the small plastic sump pipe branching off the sump very near to where the drain pump twists on (this can sometimes get clogged/jammed).
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ferengi

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Lanarkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 8:51 am Reply with quote

Well, there you go, I was thinking that there was only one pump for draining and washing! icon_eek.gif So the pump I have taken out and cleaned was the drain pump and, because I have been lying it on its right hand side and removing the bottom and left side covers for access, I've never even spotted the wash motor. I'll check it out later along with that rubber non-return valve

If the wash motor has failed would it not produce an error?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
zipper

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 2789
Location: Aberdeen,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 505 times

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:32 am Reply with quote

You would think so but it isn't listed as a separate error code, it may however trigger another code. Error codes are often a good help in identifying a particular problem but they can also be annoyingly misleading sometimes. F4 usually turns out to be a drain issue, either on the machine itself or the plumbing. Think about it this way; if the machine can't evacuate water it won't fill either.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ferengi

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Lanarkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 1:12 pm Reply with quote

Is this the wash motor/ pump?



And is that a heater to the left of it? If not, what is it?

D
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ferengi

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Lanarkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:44 pm Reply with quote

Btw What kind of resistance should I read across the wash pump?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
zipper

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 2789
Location: Aberdeen,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 505 times

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm Reply with quote

Yes; inline heater to the left and wash motor on right side of picture. BTW from the photo it looks like there might have been water leaking on the bottom plate (or is it just a reflection?). If it is leakage one possible culprit could be the seals in the wash motor. At 25C: Heater res. 25 ohms. Drain pump res. 146 ohms. Wash motor res. (note this has 2 windings) from a slightly fuzzy memory you ought to get something like 70 ohms & 48 ohms (I can't remember if they have 3 or 4 terminals). There is a 4 uf capacitor mounted on or near the blind side of the wash motor.
To get easy access to all the components lie the machine on its back & remove the bottom plate.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ferengi

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Lanarkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:19 pm Reply with quote

You're right about the water marks...but they're old; several years ago I had a backup caused by an external blockage. There doesn't appear to be any leakage now though.

What's the point of two windings? Btw the plug which you can see in the forefront only has two terminals? Across those terminals I am getting only 30 to 31 ohms. I had the motor out and the impeller was a bit dirty/ gritty but not bad. I've noticed though that the plug for the terminals is a bit burnt so it's obviously had a 'moment' at some point. I'm going to cut it off and put spades on it in case it's the plug making a bad connection.

Also, looking at that picture, I've just realised icon_eek.gif that I've put the motor back in a quarter turn out (CW) so I'll need to redo that! icon_mad.gif


Last edited by ferengi on Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
zipper

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 2789
Location: Aberdeen,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 505 times

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:40 pm Reply with quote

Yes I see the 2 point plug but this motor has to have min 3 terminals to enable a 4uf capacitor to be connected between the two windings. The other connections will be at the blind side of the motor where the capacitor is fitted. If you pull off the motor connection plug what resistance do you read across the two? Single phase motors of this type have a run winding & a start winding. When switched on both windings are in circuit until the motor approaches full speed, at which point the start winding cuts out (otherwise the motor would burn out very quickly). The capacitor provides a start-kick but once discharged it effectively disables the start winding.


Last edited by zipper on Mon Jul 12, 2010 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ferengi

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Lanarkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:55 pm Reply with quote

ok doke, I'll check it out and get back to you later on.

Cheers

D
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
zipper

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 2789
Location: Aberdeen,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 505 times

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 6:40 pm Reply with quote

Burnt connections sound a bit ominous! I have seen bad/burnt heater connections but rarely on a wash motor. As you suggest replace the connections with spades. It is hard to see from the picture if it will be possible to observe the wash motor rotor actually spinning. But hook up the machine with the right hand side plate off. Run a program & try to ascertain if the wash motor spins or if it just stands there making a humming sound. It it hums without spinning then it is either down to a bad capacitor, defective motor windings, or jammed impellor.
But back to the start...F4 is almost always a drain issue.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
zipper

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 2789
Location: Aberdeen,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 505 times

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 7:06 pm Reply with quote

As an afterthought I suppose you could do it another way. Rather than go to all the trouble of connecting everything again & running a program to find out if the wash motor is good or bad you could try this:
Make up a flex with spade terminals & a fused plug. Put a couple of pints of water in the machine. Close the door & hotwire the wash motor (don't forget to find a good earth point on or near the motor). Stand well back & switch on briefly to see if it runs/washes or just stands there buzzing.
You could also test the drain pump in-situ in much the same manner (remember to lift the drain hose & put it over the sink, or in a bucket).
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Appliances All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
diplomat dishwasher adp8322 16 4020 Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:14 am
Diplomat adp8322 dishwasher 2 80 Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:37 pm
Diplomat ADP8322 dishwasher 2 2500 Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:28 pm
diplomat adp8322 dishwasher 3 4740 Tue Jan 01, 2008 12:58 pm
Diplomat ADP8322 dishwasher powers off when door is raised 3 80 Wed May 30, 2012 10:20 am


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.