EXTERNAL ALARM SYSTEM & CCTV - project due to start

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Had a window forced entry recently - but intruder luckily spotted by passer by - so intruder exited quickly - empty handed.

We have an internal wireless alarm which was in the process of repair when this occured, but my objective is now to Raise an Alarm BEFORE entry and damage to the property.

I have been trying (WITH DIFFICULTY) to source suitable external PIRs suitable for small animal filtering, and able to drive a control panel and alarm box with strobe.

I am a retired engineer and have experience of fitting an alarm system and CCTV at my previous home a few years ago.

3 Questions

1. Can the Alarm and Strobe be set to work together and timed to switch OFF and reset after - say 10 minutes. This would be to avoid nuisance to neighbours and not advertise the fact you may be away by the continuous strobe light after the siren has stopped.

2. Can I drive say four alarm boxes from the same alert, or at least the Strobes on these boxes. (Max deterrent effect for intruder and max visibility attention from neighbours)

3. Any leads please to suitable external weathproof sensibly priced PIRs. I will need about 7 or 8.

Appreciate input from anyone who has installed a similar system. I also intend to fit a new modern CCTV system.

Thanks in anticipation for any replies. :D

Sponsored Links
It's always the same - break in then followed by totally OTT response.

Just put a decent domestic alarm in (Texecom R8?) and you'll get no further bother.

Why upset your neighbours over something that's not going to happen?

Hi Joe

Appreciate your personal point of view, but apparently the previous owners had a break in and several locally have had thefts from items outdoors.

Its too late to act once they are in, if there are no neighbours at home. Best in my view to let them know they are detected BEFORE damage occurs, not to let them enter the property before an alarm sounds.