DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

How do I disconnect a burglar alarm sensor?

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Alarms, CCTV & Telephones
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
markjg123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2011
Posts: 29
Location: Glasgow,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:29 pm Reply with quote

I need to permanently remove a wired sensor from my Veritas R8 alarm system. The sensor I want to disconnect is spurred from another sensor. Can anyone advise on how to do this?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Alarm

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Oct 2010
Posts: 8970
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 529 times

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:28 am Reply with quote

Carefully, is the first answer.
Have you the engineering code?
Without this the panel will activate and go into alarm.
It might be programmed for user reset.
Take detector apart or lift the lid on the panel and then refit and use your code. If it resets your in luck. If not you need an engineer to assist.
Back to top
The following user says thank you to Alarm for this useful post:
markjg123 (10 Mar 2011)
 Alert Moderators
markjg123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2011
Posts: 29
Location: Glasgow,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:03 am Reply with quote

The only code I have is the user PIN to set/reset the system. The system was installed before I moved in and I wasn't left any documentation. Clearly I should have asked the previous owner who the installer was. This may be a very dumb question but if I manage to find a local engineer how will he know the engineer code? Is this a specific code known only to registered installers or could it have been set by the installer?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
mryoung

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 388
Location: Fife,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 46 times

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:36 pm Reply with quote

markjg123 wrote:
The only code I have is the user PIN to set/reset the system. The system was installed before I moved in and I wasn't left any documentation. Clearly I should have asked the previous owner who the installer was. This may be a very dumb question but if I manage to find a local engineer how will he know the engineer code? Is this a specific code known only to registered installers or could it have been set by the installer?


He wont know the code as this is specific to the installer, it may even still be set to default but this is unlikely.

Any engineer worth his salt can reset the code to default for you.
Back to top
The following user says thank you to mryoung for this useful post:
markjg123 (10 Mar 2011)
 Alert Moderators
Alarm

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Oct 2010
Posts: 8970
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 529 times

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:20 pm Reply with quote

As Mr Y says.

For local assistance use these leads.

http://www.ssaib.co.uk/
Or
http://www.nsi.org.uk/
Back to top
The following user says thank you to Alarm for this useful post:
markjg123 (10 Mar 2011)
 Alert Moderators
Alarm

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Oct 2010
Posts: 8970
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 529 times

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:23 pm Reply with quote

Sorry for the poor spelling of assistance.
It seems this will not let me edit.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Alarm

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Oct 2010
Posts: 8970
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 529 times

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:24 pm Reply with quote

Alarm wrote:
Sorry for the poor spelling of assistance.
It seems this will not let me edit.


Now it does!!!!!!!!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
markjg123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2011
Posts: 29
Location: Glasgow,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:28 pm Reply with quote

OK. I've taken the front panel off the 2 sensors and the wiring is very different. I've attached photos. The first is the sensor I want to keep. The second is the one I want to remove. The 'surplus wiring' from the sensor I want to remove is just tucked behind the one I want to keep.





So what do I do now?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Alarm

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Oct 2010
Posts: 8970
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 529 times

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 3:36 pm Reply with quote

The first one is fitted incorrectly.
The second is correct.
REd and Black being the power.
Alarm is Blue/Yellow.
Tamper Green and White.
Drop the green and white into the spare terimnals of the first pir. As it is "back to back".
Back to top
The following user says thank you to Alarm for this useful post:
markjg123 (11 Mar 2011)
 Alert Moderators
markjg123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2011
Posts: 29
Location: Glasgow,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 5:44 pm Reply with quote

OK. Can you explain why the first one has a twisted pair of red and black wires? Do I need to do anything with them?

Once I've connected the green and white to the first PIR, am I good to completely remove the second one?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
markjg123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2011
Posts: 29
Location: Glasgow,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:43 pm Reply with quote

Both PIRs are supplied by an eight core wire - red/black/blue/yellow/green/white/orange/brown.

The PIR I want to keep is connected directly to the control panel. It has red/black/blue/yellow connected to terminals as shown. The green/white wires are not connected to anything. The brown wire is connected to the yellow wire (using insulation tape) that runs to the other PIR. The orange wire is connected to the blue wire (using insulation tape) that runs to the other PIR.

The PIR I want to remove is the one with the orange/brown wires on show but are not connected to any terminals. It has red/black connected to red/black in the PIR I want to keep. The green/white/orange/brown wires are not connected to anything even though green/white are connected to terminals in the PIR. The yellow/blue wires are connected as described above.

Can you please decipher for me and explain how to (a) disconnect the PIR I want to remove and (b) correctly wire the PIR I want to keep?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Alarm

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Oct 2010
Posts: 8970
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 529 times

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:53 pm Reply with quote

The twisted pair are the power.
The others are alarm and tamper.
It even tells you on the board/PCB in the detectors which is which.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
markjg123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2011
Posts: 29
Location: Glasgow,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 8:21 pm Reply with quote

Sorry, I worked out that much.

I can't figure out why:

1) The tamper wires from the panel are not connected to the PIR I want to keep.

2) One end of the tamper wires from the spur cable are connected to PIR I want to remove but the other end is not connected to anything.

3) The alarm wires from the spur cable are connected to orange/brown from the panel cable.

Do I stop worrying about this and simply:

A) Disconnect the power wires in the spur cable from the PIR I am keeping.

B) Disconnect the alarm wires from the spur cable that are connected to orange/brown from the panel cable.

C) Connect the tamper wires from the panel cable to the PIR I want to keep.

I assume brown/orange are not required.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Alarm

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Oct 2010
Posts: 8970
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 529 times

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 9:14 pm Reply with quote

Without looking and tracing all cables back.

It would be difficult to comment correctly.
But to answer as much as I can.

1,sloppy fitting.
2,See above.
3,Joints somewhere, hence the "series" fitting.


A, drop them the pir will stop working.
B,take them out see what happens. My guess is you will lose a circuit and the panel will not set.
C,Deffo keep the tamper, as you never know!


I assume the brown are needed, as its been fitted back to back. You will need to close that circuit off.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
markjg123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2011
Posts: 29
Location: Glasgow,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 11:46 am Reply with quote

icon_surprised.gif

All sorted!

Have completely removed the unwanted PIR and it's wiring.

Have connected the tamper wires on the PIR I kept - all the other PIRs in the house have been connected in this way.

Have completed a walk test and all is fine.

I initially got a zone open fault on the walk test for the zone where I'd removed the PIR. This was rectified once I joined brown/orange.

Thanks very much for all your help.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Alarms, CCTV & Telephones All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Disconnect and removing burglar alarm 9 1620 Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:52 pm
how do i disconnect my burglar alarm? 15 14360 Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:59 am
Disconnect Alarm from telephone system / ADSL filtering 9 520 Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:59 pm
Van alarm disconnect 3 80 Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:27 pm
Disconnect external siren Scantronic 500 r 3 700 Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:22 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.