UPVC window dripping through hook holes??!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello - newbie here after some advice!

Had new upvc windows installed in new loft conversion end of December 2010, from company called Quickslide.

On Monday this week one of the small units started leaking through what looked like the back of the hook at the bottom of the window. We took the hook off and nothing seemed to be coming from the holes but noticed it was wet at the join line just above to the right so maybe it's coming from there and finding its way down the back of the hook.

It's totally bizarre as it hasn't rained since last Friday and has been baking hot here in sunny Manchester. (And by the time we noticed the leak it has ruined the freshly painted sill...)

I put a towel underneath to catch the drips and have been monitoring closely. It stopped dripping late Monday evening and didn't drip on Tuesday. No drips today but then started again this evening. Towel pretty damp.

We checked the unit and can't see any obvious entry points for rain to get in (even though there hasn't been any!), it's not wet on the plastic part at the bottom where the window closes and even more weird is that the unit is the inside part that slots up to the top outer unit so the top isn't exposed. No wetness anywhere around the edges or down the insides of the frame.

We just can't work it out - why would it suddenly start leaking, then stop for a day, then start again when over those 3 days there's been no rain?! It's as if there's a pool of water inside the unit and it's being pushed out at strange intervals!