Rendering a garden wall...novice DIYer! please help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

Have previously used the site for much appreciated advise while we have been renovating our property!

Have now finally tackled the 12ft thistles that were present on buying it and the removal of a HUGE brick built shed with the added pain of an asbestos roof! :mad:

At present we have one garden wall around 5ft tall and 20ft long that was built with 6" breeze blocks (please forgive me if use the wrong lingo, as i said complete novice)

one garden wall at the end of the garden around 10ft long and standing 3ft tall which is built from regular house bricks (it does look relatively new compared to the other brick wall below)

and the other wall that is 3ft tall with trellis on top and runs 20ft built also built from house bricks but we suspect from talking to neighbours its the original wall (1901) and looks rather tatty...needs some repointing according to our neighbours they did their side a few years back.
this wall then rises to 5ft and runs another 12ft, it is also the original wall but has been rendered (horrendously although the yellow colour does not make it look any more appealing) this wall leads up to and attaches or looks as though it does to the side of the house which is also rendered the same (not a project were planning on taking on though) the render is textured.

So.....advice needed!

1) What do I need to do to prepare the breeze block wall for rendering?
2)What mixture do I use to render?
3)Should i repoint before I render the wall that needs repointing (or have i just answered my own question)
4) Do i need to remove the old render from the wall that has the textured render on it?
5)If not...can I render over the textured render to achieve a smooth finish?