Technical Helplines

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I was after your thoughts on how you have been spoken to when phoning various tech help lines...

More to the point. Do you prefer when the guy (or gal) on the end of the tech lines are down to earth, speak like we do and can communicate on your level, occasionally using mate or pal.

OR

Do you prefer it when they speak like they have a spoon up their a$$ calling you sir/madam, yes sir no sir three bags full sir.

I personnally prefer it when they are friendly and open speaking. Words like mate or pal don't bother me as i am an engineer and they are, not a private home owner that would be different.

So please let me have your thoughts on this and any good/bad experiences you may have had!

Cheers :cool:

Sponsored Links
Yes i am aware of that post but my question is more of how you prefer to be spoken to...

That thread was which company or tech lines do you rate or prefer :D

So what says you?

Ah, apologies.

Well I could care less how they speak to me as long as I get it fixed. :)

Sponsored Links
I like to be spoken to politely.

I also like to speak to someone who has clearly actually fixed boilers themselves!

Haha nicko my thoughts exactly! :eek:

Agile, politeness and experience aside, would you take offence is a tech operator were to refer to you as "mate or pal" ??

Replies colleagues have received in the past.

"Don't call me 'mate.' People will think I like you!"

"Don't call me 'mate', I'm a director."

I never use the words mate, pal, bud/buddy, chief, squire, chum, sunshine, sir, madam, miss etc.
In fact, I will only address the person by name - if I know it.

I generally go with the what ever the other person is addressing me as is acceptable to re address them with them same title.

As i am fully appreciative of "professional" service from these companies, Could i be right in assuming that mate would be classed in your eyes as unprofessional?