garage conversion - advice required

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

I live in a 3 bed detached with a single garage. House is apporx 15-20 years old

I would like to covert my garage into another room. I am gas fitter by trade and can basically throw my hand to anything so looking for advice on how to do this properly. I will be getting a bricky in to do the brickwork as theyll do a better job than me.

Anyway, garage has a cavity with breeze block internal walls. Im assuming that all I have to really do is the foloowing

1. remove garage door
2. brick up to dpc
3. install screed to level floor
4. get 2 sockets put in and the light switched moved. light already in centre of room
5. putting plumbing in ready for radiator
6. brick up to bottom of new window and install new window
7. dry wall and plaster walls
8. decorate

is this the way it should be done?

just a couple of questions

1. Will i be allowed to build directly onto the concrete 'foundation' at the front of the house where the garge door is? if not, what will they expect me to do here to satisfy building regs

2. The current conrete floor is not level. its currently 140mm below dpc at the back of the garage and 40mm below dpc at the entrace of the garage. Will i be able to just screed straight ontop of this or will they expect insulation/visqueen to be put in

3. Is there anything else i should be aware of? any advice at all greatly appreciated

Sponsored Links
please guys, im looking for a little advice from some experianced guys or girls

I don't [normally] reply to garage conversion threads, because there are literally loads of these already posted with the very same questions and answers

You might or might not be able to build on the existing slab. It depends what the BCO says

You build a timber floor and insulate or insulate and screed. Insulation will be at least 80mm celotex type, or more if a different type.