Loud vibration when taps are on.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Any idea what this loud vibration is? Its coming from the loft obviously must be the tank, its got worse past few months, does it when ever you run a tap, could it be anything to do with the toilet flush?

Sponsored Links
If it is only just developing, then it could be muck has made itself into the float valve up stairs and causing the valve to 'trumpet' when it reaches a certain point ( usually when the filling is coming to an end ). You could open it up and clean it out, but seeing as they are only about 8 quid, buy a new one and stick it in.

If you have had any noises like that for along time, then clip some of the pipes down too, sounds like water hammer.

Is it easy to do though, do you have to drain the tank? and do you buy the whole float valve? im a complete novice at this, it has been noisy for about 6 months now.

You dont have to drain the tank, just isolate it. If you cant find a local service valve for it then turn the whole house of. If you are a novice, then changing it for a new one would be easier. Servicing them can be a pain, especially if the they are all scaled up.

Hold on to the main body with a set of grips and undo the nut that connects the pipe to the valve just out side the tank. Then undo the two retaining nuts that keep the valve secured to the tank, paying attention to a reddish coloured washer that seals the two together, this is a fibre washer and should be replaced for a new one. Take the valve to the local plumbers merchant and get them to sort out a new one and grab some PTFE and a new fibre washer whilst you are there. The floats are often sold seperately - buy a new one for a quid or so or use the old one.