DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Indesit WD12 Dial spins round

This topic originated from the How to page called Washing machine troubleshooting
Click here to return to the page called Washing machine troubleshooting.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Appliances
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Garydillon

from United Kingdom

Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Manchester,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 1:04 pm Reply with quote

The Dial keeps going round, the machine does nothing, I have counted 10 flashes from the led light. Please can you help icon_cry.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Sleepyhead

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 1896
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 27 times

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:55 pm Reply with quote

Pressure switch not sensing.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Garydillon

from United Kingdom

Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Manchester,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:41 pm Reply with quote

Thanks for your answer, What do I need to do next, What part should I order.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Sleepyhead

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 1896
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 27 times

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:46 pm Reply with quote

If only it were that easy.
With Indesit it can be anything causing any of the reported faults.
Can only advise that you check the pressure switch hose and/or chamber isn't blocked.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Garydillon

from United Kingdom

Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Manchester,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 8:47 am Reply with quote

Hi,
Yes I have checked the pressure tube and it looks OK. Could it be the pressure unit, I have already ordered one, It was only 5.60. Do you think it could be anything other than the unit?


thanks Gary
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ishmail

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Tyne and Wear,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 4:15 pm Reply with quote

At last- someone else who has the same problem, more or less....

We have one of these things, and since the damn thing was delivered have had an intermittent problem with the dial spining endlessly just after it has flushed the washing liquid chamber.

We get eight flashes of the main light, and the dial endlessly clicks away. This error code, I am told by Indesit engineers, is the dryer error code. However, we have had the thing inspected and cleaned out, new seals, a new motor, and a new pressure switch/sensor, yet it still keeps stalling in exactly the same manner.

The only way to get the thing to work is to switch it off at the mains, shake the whole machine violently, and then reconnect to the mains and hope for the best. This usually cures the problem, but not always, so you have to repeatedly assualt the machine until it learns to do as it is told! I know this sounds extreme- but it is the only way to overcome the problem.

We await another engineer to call on Monday next week..........
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Sleepyhead

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 1896
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 27 times

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 4:47 pm Reply with quote

8 flashes isn't a dryer error code. It's "heater relay cannot be activated".
This is the water heater and the fault is normally with the main pcb.
Dryer faults are 13, 14 and 15 flashes.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ishmail

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Tyne and Wear,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 2:55 pm Reply with quote

Are you absolutely sure?

The service center said dryer error, and the engineer whom called last week said the self-test diagnostic said a pressure switch fault..... but of course that proved not to be the case....

I wonder if you can confirm how you know this? If this is the case then I can use you help to pressure the "senior" engineer on Monday to look at the pcb and maybe replace the whole board.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Sleepyhead

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 1896
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 27 times

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 5:29 pm Reply with quote

Yep. I'm looking at the error code list and it's not a dryer fault code.
Error codes are only a guide to the engineer. Although 8 flashes is "heater relay cannot be activated" there can be several causes for this.
A faulty pcb, bad connections to the pcb, broken connections at the heater or thermistor (thermostat if fitted). The connections at the heater have been known to break internally so the wire actually looks ok.
These would also give error code 8.

You mention assaulting the machine to get it working. This would indicate to me possibly bad connections or a sticky relay.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ishmail

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Tyne and Wear,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 5:16 pm Reply with quote

Thank you for you asisstance. Your information was most helpfull today.

When the "senior" engineer arrived he remembered having fitted the new motor earlier this year, and he immediately agreed with you that the error codes we now had indicated a problem with the pcb and/or heater relay.

He took the time to briefly show me the pc-based database he had with him on his laptop, and pointed out that different models had different configurations of circuit board and integrated relays, but agreed that the only option was to replace the pcb completely, and burn the EPROM with the required code.

We now have a replacement pcb and so far (touch wood- quickly!!) we have had a faultless performace from the machine...... I will post any more problems if they occur... but hopefull not.............
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Sleepyhead

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 1896
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 27 times

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:16 pm Reply with quote

As far as I'm aware there are 4 or 5 different boards for the Indesit badged machines. (May be more now that they've taken over Hotpoint).

Glad you managed to get it sorted. Thanks for letting us know the outcome. icon_biggrin.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Appliances All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Indesit wd12, programme knob keeps clicking round 3 2560 Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:54 pm
My Indesit WI121 programmer spins round then stops 6 420 Sat Apr 10, 2010 4:42 pm
INDESIT W143S WASHING MACHINE - dial clicks round constantly 2 1420 Thu Jun 05, 2008 6:09 am
Indesit wm12x finished cycle dial just keeps turning round 5 40 Sat Nov 24, 2012 7:43 pm
indesit wi101 programme dial continuosly clicks round 10 1240 Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:28 am


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.