Fitting new MCB

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Since moving to our current address we have been changing the lights and we now find the the MCB (5amp) for one circuit trips out occasionally. I suspected we had exceeded the limit on the MCB and when I checked yesterday we have approx 1.8kw of lights in that circuit (about 8.7A I think) so I need to fit a 10A MCB. As I've never done this before do I have to get the same make as the old one (mini-trip)? Also do they just pull out of the CU. I don't want to damage anything. Can someone give me some advice please?

Sponsored Links
Sadly its not just a case of swapping the MCB. tests need to be carried out to ensure the wiring on the circuit is suitable for the upgrade.

Out of interest, when does the MCB trip? Is it when you turn on certain lights? (I'm thinking toroidal transformers with high inrush current here) or is it when the circuit is definitely overloaded? It may be sufficient if this is the case, to fit a C6 MCB.

I would seek professional advice from a registered electrician - he will be able to assess your wiring better than we can. I believe this is also legally notifiable to your local building control under part p of the building regs.

And if you post a picture fo the CU using a image host such as www.imageshack.us we will be able to tell you a bit more about the difficulty of job this is - some CUs are easier to swap MCBs.

you could buy some energy saving bulbs! -easyer than changing the MCB+ cables! and will save on your elecrtricity bill!