Boilermate II Blockage

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello people, please be gentle with me, I'm an IT expert and I don't speak Central Heating.

I have a boilermate II which at 3.30am on Wednesday decided to start screaming. I shut it down, did some basic investigation including talking to Gledhill and found that the F+E tank wasn't filling. Got a man in this morning who found that the diaphram was stuck, fixed it and it filled up nicely, sorted the pump so it stopped making the noises, however, he couldn't after 3 hours get any water back into the system. Backfilling he said would mask the problem, that he thought there was a blockage in the coldfeed.

My questions are:

1. Is this fixable? I will ask Gledhill on Monday but I'm a bit desperate.

2. Could it be something else?

3. Can anyone recommend someone who can help me in the Grays/West Essex area?

I should add that the radiators when bled show nothing, no water, no air.

I'm afraid I'm being a complete girls blouse about it all, you don't realise how much you depend on this stuff until it's not there. :cry: :?: :cry: :?: :cry:

Sponsored Links
It does certainly sound like a blocked feed pipe.
Heres a way of cheating that may come under your term of backfilling. I find it works often but it does depend on how bad the blockage is.
Using fittings connect a hosepipe to the vent and the other end to an outside tap or washing machine valve or make a connection to the cold pipe feeding the ballvalve . Basically use mains pressure to blast the blockage through to the F&E tank. If this doesnt work there is no choice but to cut into the feed where it goes into the system and clear the blockage.