DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

RCD tripped and wont reset

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
1878

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 51
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:09 pm Reply with quote

just changed my board to a split load type and sockets were ok for maybe a minute then the rcd tripped and wont reset?? icon_rolleyes.gif changed the ring circuit to the non rcd protected side and its fine...any ideas???

cheers


Last edited by 1878 on Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:12 pm, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Adam_151

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 5765
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 135 times

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:11 pm Reply with quote

What are your IR readings for the ring circuit?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 35962
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1253 times

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:13 pm Reply with quote

*sigh*
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
bernardgreen

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 10172
Location: Bedfordshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 754 times

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:20 pm Reply with quote

Did you the change of CU yourself or was it done by an electrician ?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
1878

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 51
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:21 pm Reply with quote

i havent taken none...right ok

im an apprentice and i know i shouldnt be doing this but my mum asked if i would as we had an old rewireable type..i've done numerous boards in work with no problems...the guy i work with said he'd test it on monday to check everything was ok icon_cry.gif clearly its not...please help me out fellas?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
1878

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 51
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:27 pm Reply with quote

but still now there is nothing at all on the split load side of the cu and it still will not reset icon_confused.gif...even with all power isolated....still will not reset....could it be a faulty rcd?? icon_confused.gif

i'd really appreciate some advice

thanks icon_wink.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ch427

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 2411
Location: Cardiff,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 218 times

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:31 pm Reply with quote

are you sure all the neutrals are in the right place
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 35962
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1253 times

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:32 pm Reply with quote

Well, if the RCD is tripping, you clearly have an earth leakage. Did you look to see if the RCD still tripped when the MCB was off? That will tell you if it is Phase/earth or Neutral/Earth.

Did you UNPLUG all appliances in the ring? That will tell you if it is a wiring/accessory fault or an appliance fault.

Did you try halving the ring? That will help you identify where the fault is on the circuit.

Presumably you have already had a visual search for damaged wiring or accesories, including rodent damage under floors, or water ingress, and have tried disconnecting any outdoor sockets or lamps on the circuit, which are at risk of collecting rainwater.

You have probably realised now why the Installation Certificate includes spaces for a lot of test results, and why replacing a CU is notifiable work. If you say you have done CU replacements at work I presume someone else has been doing the tests.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Spark123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 14170
Location: Cumbria,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 396 times

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:32 pm Reply with quote

You promise your electrician is coming on monday?
Check you have all your circuits in the correct neutrals.

beaten by ch427!!


Last edited by Spark123 on Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:33 pm, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
bernardgreen

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 10172
Location: Bedfordshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 754 times

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:34 pm Reply with quote

What was there before, I assume it did not have a RCD fitted.

You do have live and neutral from the meter the correct way round. How did move the tails while they were live ?

Do you have the neutral of the ring in the correct neutral bar in the CU

( CU = consumer unit )

If the neutral is in the correct neutral bar then un-plug everything from the sockets.

If the ring still trips the RCD then there is a fault in the wiring which you, together with an electrician with the necessary test equipment and knowledge, will have to find.

If the sockets work on the un-protected side then MAYBE you could leave them on there but in the knowledge that there is a fault.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 35962
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1253 times

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:35 pm Reply with quote

1878 wrote:
...changed the ring circuit to the non rcd protected side and its fine...


1878 wrote:
...but still now there is nothing at all on the split load side of the cu and it still will not reset...


Talk me through that again?

(p.s. I agree about the Neutrals icon_wink.gif )
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
DESL

from United Kingdom

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 937
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:38 pm Reply with quote

Quote:
Check you have all your circuits in the correct neutrals.


And make sure you have the neutral feeds connected to the correct busbar
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
1878

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 51
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:44 pm Reply with quote

bernardgreen wrote:
What was there before, I assume it did not have a RCD fitted.

You do have live and neutral from the meter the correct way round. How did move the tails while they were live ?

Do you have the neutral of the ring in the correct neutral bar in the CU

( CU = consumer unit )

If the neutral is in the correct neutral bar then un-plug everything from the sockets.

If the ring still trips the RCD then there is a fault in the wiring which you, together with an electrician with the necessary test equipment and knowledge, will have to find.

If the sockets work on the un-protected side then MAYBE you could leave them on there but in the knowledge that there is a fault.


no rcd before just a wylex old rewireable board..

yes i'm positive the neutrals are in the correct bar because at first all i had on the split load neautral bar was the ring circuit neutral which wer tested for continuity....as i said changed to unprtected side including neutrals and its running fine but the rcd will still not rest with nothing on that side??
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Spark123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 14170
Location: Cumbria,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 396 times

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:45 pm Reply with quote

Can you take a photo of the inside of the CU and post it here?

http://www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=73320


Last edited by Spark123 on Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
1878

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 51
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:46 pm Reply with quote

JohnD wrote:
1878 wrote:
...changed the ring circuit to the non rcd protected side and its fine...


1878 wrote:
...but still now there is nothing at all on the split load side of the cu and it still will not reset...


Talk me through that again?

(p.s. I agree about the Neutrals icon_wink.gif )


ok because i could not reset the rcd i put the ring circiut across to the non proctected side with my lights and immersion....everything has been fine for the last hour....

so with no load on the rcd side it should reset right? but it won't icon_question.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
MCB Blown and wont reset 9 240 Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:56 pm
Consumer unit wont reset ... 21 600 Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:34 am
Legrand fuse box wont reset 6 620 Sat Nov 29, 2008 12:14 pm
RCD wont reset even with electric off 2 640 Thu Oct 25, 2007 8:43 pm
Circuit breaker tripped off, Would not reset!! 2 2140 Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:57 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.