garage power, old house, help needed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Gents, im hoping for some help / advice, before i start i am not an electrician, i am a very competent diyer, however i have no interest in burning my house down! so i want advice so when i get some quotes in i know what to check the electrician for so i feel comfortable, i am not after any technical details but guidance please, i have searched though old posts, and got a general idea, but would like some help.

i have recently moved into a 1930's house where there is no power supply to the garage, however i would like one. The garage is watertight with no leaks, and is of concrete panel construction.

i have attached an image below of the layout, should the power be taken from the fusebox? one electrician i called in offered to take it from a plug in the kitchen, which seemed very dodgy to me, and duct the cables under my patio, and adding a fuseboc in the garage? The drainage in my garden is not too good, is it okay the cable will be essentially sitting in water?

also if the feed is taken from the fuse box do i have to chip up a line in the drive (which i would rather not do)? or can it be run along the house? if it did the feed would cross what appears to be the main earth from the electricity supply.

just so you are aware as i say i am confident at most diy tasks, but electricity is not something i want to have a go with, changing sockets im okay with, but im not attempting anything else, so id like to be in a position to know what someone is talking about before letting them work on my house

Any advice would be hugely appreciated.

thanks very much

house.jpg

Sponsored Links
A supply to an outside building can't just be attached to the circuit supplying sockets in the house, it needs its own dedicated supply.