Vokera 20-80RS Flowmatic fault

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

been out to this boiler today with customer saying the pilot light keeps shutting off at various intervals. I've never worked on this boiler before and there was no MI's present so hopefully someone can help me.
What seems to be happening is that when the pilot is lit the boiler will work ok on a demand for heating or H/W. However it also seems to be firing up and shutting down repeatedly even when there is no demand at all. Obviously this causes the temperature of the boiler to rise as the heat is not being taken away from the boiler and therefore the O/Heat stat kicks in and shuts off the pilot etc. Now the presure is fine and the fan & pump seem to work ok so not sure if this is maybe a stat fault or maybe the P.C.B? Is it normal for this boiler to cycle with no demand for heat?
Hopefully some of you can help me out as I don't like having to scrap perfectly good boilers due to my lack of knowledge!

Sponsored Links
What you need to find out is why the pump is running when no demand is in place.

Download MIs from Vokera website.

Yeah but not only is the pump running but the burner is firing up, staying on for about 30 seconds and then shutting down. It seems to repeat this cycle until eventually the boiler overheats and shuts off the pilot. There is no demand and the water just circulates around the boiler. I'll get the MI's, just wondered if anyone had any prior ideas.

Sponsored Links
Hi Dan, that's one thing that i didn't check. I guess the H/W microswitch could be stuck on. I'll check it and let you know, cheers. :eek:

Mulls you are missing the point of my post. If the pump is running (it is pump run that starts the sequence), then the sequence WILL culminate with burner firing. You cannot have pump run (apart from dispersal of residual heat actioned by CH stat) which will not result in burner firing.