Fixing Met Posts into Concrete

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'd like to put a fence up, but on top of a concrete surface. I bought some 4" bolt down metposts and M10 bolts (see photo).

I've never used these expanding bolts before and wanted some clarification before I mess it up! I can see that when the expanding section can no long travel up the thread the tapered end will cause it to expand and wedge in the hole. But, the expanding section will only stop when it rises to the top of the thread, meaning it will expand about 1.5" below the surface. Surely it will be more secure if it expands as far down into the ground as possible - so what am I missing :confused:

metpost.jpg

Sponsored Links
No, once the wedge get a grip and tighten in the hole, the bolt will tighten downward, just make sure the wedge holder is just below the surface

Umm, what's the wedge holder?

How does the wedge get a grip? Doesn't it need some resistance against it (or to hold it) otherwise the expanding section just rides up the thread instead of being pushed apart?

The cone wedge inside the sleeve, put the rawlbolt in the hole of the base as a test then tighten the bolt, you will see what will happen

Sponsored Links
diy_darren said:
Surely it will be more secure if it expands as far down into the ground as possible - so what am I missing :confused:

You are missing nothing, these rawlbolts will pull up the thread as you thought, and will only tighten when they can rise no further.

If this worries you, buy longer rawlbolts.

When I'm drilling holes for these bolts should they be just big enough to get the expanding section in?

If so, then I can see the hole will provide enough grip to prevent the expanding section turning. As I wind the nut it will pull the wedge upwards and everything makes sense.

Rawlbolts are designed to go just below the surface, and should pull up tight against your base plate or washer.