17th edition and Tri rated cable

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
For the loft
Generally is this allowed if in trucking etc as if I use 1.5mm this has a peak of 21amps so greater and a 15mV/A/m drop.
Would a sparky allow this if signing off my part P I see no reason but the greater knowledge may know.
Or is it just not worth the agro and pay the extra for twin and earth

Sponsored Links
By the time you have messed about with the trunking you may aswell use T&E. No registered spark can sign your work off for you.

The wire etc would be free thats all!!
and by then i may have 17th edition but not a sparky by trade!!
intended to replace current fuse board larger and using RCBO's as safer and price seems to be dropping.

I know the cable is electrically good enough it is the other areas

Tri rated should afaik have proper terminations on the ends unless the terminal is designed to take it, yet im sure the regulation is ignored fairly often.

Sponsored Links
Can you get me a few m of 25mm² red & black? ;)

Vis-a-vis Building Regulations, you still won't be able to sign of your own work, or have anybody else sign it off.

intended to replace current fuse board
I have a feeling that you don't know what's involved in doing that.

e.g
if I use 1.5mm this has a peak of 21amps
No it doesn't.

HOMEWORK: Tell us why not.

Can you get me a few m of 25mm² red & black? ;)
Unfortuantly not LOL

Vis-a-vis Building Regulations, you still won't be able to sign of your own work, or have anybody else sign it off.
That is a major ****er more unnecessary expenses

intended to replace current fuse board
I have a feeling that you don't know what's involved in doing that.
Currently already has RCD board so not "fuse" board I intended to split more circuits so rather than downstairs loft and upstairs the bedrooms got split when the kids are bad take out the room LOL
Already changed/installed boards for bigger stuff so this will be no issue.

e.g
if I use 1.5mm this has a peak of 21amps