18 flats wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi im a domestic installer and have been asked to quote to rewire 18 flats over 3 floors.
New 19 supplys in the basement(1 for landlord)
Is it a overkill to take 25mm cable to each flat CU?

Sponsored Links
The usual questions to start:
- what size are these flats
- what's the loading for each flat
- all electric or is gas/other present
- where will metering be located (basement or in each flat)
- what's actually been supplied by the DNO (or will be supplied)
- where does DNO equipment end, and BNO equipment start
- what provision for EV charging will there be

Hi im a domestic installer
Have you done any commercial installations before?

DNO has suoplied 100amp each
Is that a fuse carrier with 100A on it, or actual 100A fuses?
You will need the written specification for the new supply, not just what fuses may or may not be present.

Sponsored Links
All 19 fuses are 100amp. Awaitin meters.

All meters in a basement communal area.
No gas just electric. 12 2 bedroom and 6 1 bedroom flats

No EV

The furthest flats from th meter will be prob 25m plus

A likely option would be (for each flat supply) a metal enclosure with DP isolator, 63A fuse and at least 1 spare space for an MCB which could be used in the future for an EV charger, with 3 core 16mm² SWA from that to the flat.
Landlord supply to a suitably sized consumer unit.

However does depend on exactly what will be in each flat. Stored hot water would be preferable to electric showers or other instant water heaters.

I would say the best way is to have the meters in the basement as planned, and get the DNO to run their own cable from here to their own cut out thingy in the flat.

You will need to run ducting in for them though.

Probably too late now if they've already fitted some equipment, so you've probably got 18 flats worth of faffing about +1.

Last edited: