29 mb when doing tightmess test

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi again guys,

Was servicing a boiler this evening and got to the job and started my usual routine. (s usual as it gets seeing as im only a newbie.)Anyway i did my let by test and everything was fine then went on to do my tightness test. I slowly tweaked the pressure up and i had 29 mb reading. Tightness test was successful

Working pressure etc was all within acceptable range for the boiler. Should this have given me cause for concern? Is this a governor problem?? Should i contact the gas company (Pheonix Natural gas Belfast)?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. This site is becoming very addictive!!!!

Grill.

Sponsored Links
isn't a tightness test done at 20mb.

Thats what i've been taught anyway

Tightness test is at 20mb, gas sound at 29mb could this lead to governor lockup :?:

If its not out of your way nip back tomorrow and test again at 20mb, piece of mind for you Grill ;)

Not unusual to get that amount but you should have turned main tap off when it got to 20mb by testing at that pressure you may have locked up the governor and not tested from there to the main tap. Basic

Sponsored Links
Recheck working pressure at meter tapping point with the boiler running, if it's over 22mB contact Transco (or your gas transporter if different in NI, perhaps Phoenix?) to get the regulator looked at, unfortunately that means turning off the gas supply until they arrive (usually pretty quick) which some customers moan about, it could be classified as ID (no meter regulation).

I assume it is NG, not LPG???

Excellent chris, nice to see someone who knows new working pressure parameters ;)

Oh dear, such basic procedures and not a clue :( is there any hope for the industry.

Tightness test is at 21 mb. Governor locks out at about 25mb

Your successful tightness test @ 29mb did not include the small part of the system between the ECV and the locked up governor.