A bit of a combi mystery (to me anyway)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Folks,

I'm new to this forum and am looking for some help with my combi. I'm no expert by the way.

I moved into my flat a year ago and to be honest took no notice of the combi until around a month ago when i stopped getting hot water. For about a week a monitored the pressure and it didn't budge from 0.5 when cold.

Anyway, the plumber came and topped it up to 1.3 and fitted a diaphragm, which fixed the hot water issue. The morning after his visit however, the pressure had dropped to 1. Since then the drop has slowed down (0.2 over 3 days). I've checked the radiators and there's no sign of a leak. I also took the front off the boiler and there's no sign of damp or wet inside.

Is it possible that topping up a system for the first time in at least a year could induce some pressure loss through a sort of settling down period?

The only other thing i noticed is a bit of green (only very little) around the return pipe under the boiler.

I hope someone can help. I just hope it's nothing sinister under the floor (the downstairs neighbour has never complained of a leaky ceiling though).

Cheers

Sponsored Links
One of the most essential parts of a combi boiler is the expansion vessel.
On a vented system, the water expands when heated and the extra volume is pushed back to the header tank.
On a sealed system, there is no header tank so the extra water has to catered for by the expansion vessel.
The vessel is divided by a diaphragm to keep the water separated from the air.
Initially the 'air' side is pumped up to about 0.8 bar before any water pressure is applied. So with diaphragm fully biased towards the water side the full volume of the vessel contains air. This air will get compressed when the heating is on and the air pressure will rise and so will the water pressure.