Aerial Connection for Loft

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by TaxiMike, 6 Oct 2010.

  1. TaxiMike

    Joined:
    6 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have just bought a property and in each room there are aerial sockets for televisions.
    Similar to this:
    https://lovedigitaltv.co.uk/images/public/products/100-1-zoom.jpg

    This is a Faceplate Multiservice with a phone connector, 2 things for satellite, an aerial socket and a fm radio socket.

    This seems to lead to the loft where there are 4 cables that do not connect to anything. I assume this is for connecting up this device.
    Each of the cables has 2 wires inside and it's not that clear which wire is for which socket, although I can work that out with trial and error.

    I just want to install an aerial in the loft but looking at the type of wire it looks to be different.

    I was looking at getting this aerial:
    71-Element High-Gain Digital TV Aerial

    This has an F-socket for aerial cable.

    I want to connect this to the wires I have but shouldn't there just be one wire for connecting the aerial rather than the 2 I have?
    Or is this sorted when you add a connector to the end of the wire?

    I looked at a guide for How to wire a Belling-Lee connector and this only shows 1 wire.

    This guide seems to suggest they are all double satellite cables perhaps...
    http://www.aerialsandtv.com/cableandleads.html

    Any advice would be welcome, thanks a lot.
     
  2. ChrisFrost

    Joined:
    26 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    1,025
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can you take some pictures of what you have?
     
  3. TaxiMike

    Joined:
    6 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, I will take some photos tonight.

    How much detail do you want for the images?
    One of the sockets and one of the cables in the loft?

    I am now wondering if each box has a wire that connects to the loft or if they are connected in series so that each connector on the box has a cable in the loft.

    Thanks
     
  4. OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    3,360
    Thanks Received:
    497
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You would normally have a distribution amp / multiswitch in the loft that takes input from aerial, satellite dish, etc and combines it all on to the downleads as required.

    EG Loftbox http://www.tvlink.co.uk/loftbox.htm
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. TaxiMike

    Joined:
    6 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, that looks like potentially what I am after.

    It's annoying that the seller didn't bother to connect one of these already, but there were a lot of things like this that he seemed to forget to do.

    It looks like this is going to take me a lot longer to work out what is going on, as well as somehow getting power to the loft for this device.

    This is what I have in each room but without the return socket (or more likely I didn't notice the return socket):

    http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/triax_304114.htm
    http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/wall_plates.htm

    I should just be able to connect the wires up to the loft box and then connect the aerial to that as well and that would work, although, in the diagram for loftbox it shows only aerials going to each room and this box being just in the living room, do you think that will be a problem?
     
  6. OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    3,360
    Thanks Received:
    497
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The bedroom sockets get their satellite from the RF out on the Sky box which is sent back to the loftbox using the 'return' wire. They watch it by tuning the TV into whichever channel the satellite is modulated on to by th Sky box.

    Not sure whether the video will be available instead of Sky or if the video will be modulated on to another channel.
     

Share This Page