Alpha 240p H/W

Expansion vessel will hopefully be OK now for a few years.

DHW sensor probably £10 - £15. Can't say whether to replace it I am not a parts swapper - like to test things first!

I can't go through testing sensors - not practical really.

You may have to call out an engineer - Alpha may be able to give you someone on their books.

Sponsored Links
I would be interested if you found a soloution to this problem as I am experiencing similar problems.

Thank you

It is still not resolved . Nothing wrong with Temp. sensor .Boiler is running better with the expansion vessel charged . I am not a boiler expert , but I think the boiler is not modulating , i.e. it is running flat out and going off on a high temperature interlock ,starting up again etc . New gas valve costs 100 `s of pounds unless you can change a coil in it . I would be interested to hear your probs.

Sponsored Links
Either test or clean or exchange both the sensors. Alpha make them expensive I think £18 each or something.
Should be 10k cold and about 4k at 80º
CH one needs conductive paste, IIRC. You get wet for the HW one.
Gas should go down, not out, when the hw gets hot. If it's going out then its either sensor or gas valve adjustment - corgi thing. (or its still dirt in the system slowing the response so temp overshoots.)

"We" would just put a couple of meters (one on each sensor, one on gas valve), a gas pressure gauge and a contact thermometer or two on it all at once, while you play with the taps doing what you're told. We do the hard bit watching things, while drinking your tea. Piece of cake? Yes please.

You have told us that there is nothing wrong with the sensor. I would question how you have come to that conclusion.

The major two operating components which have not apparently been confirmed as operating properly are the fan/aps and the gas valve. These however both require a competent CORGI registered engineer.