Architrave...I need advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a total newbie to DIY

im 28 years old and have just purchased my first house.

I have removed the architrave, and im left with the door frame against the plasterboard and the wall.

I understand I have several options to attach the architrave, nails, adhesive etc, im your experience, which offers a more professional finish asthetics wise, and how do I prep the door frame and adjoing wall etc ready to attach the architrave...just a normal rub down with a sander?

also, do i remove the paint from the door frame too?

cheers guys

Sponsored Links
I would nail it on with the pin nails that you can hammer the head into the wood, then fill with wood filler, or if you are painting them use caulk.

To remove the paint you could use something like nitromors chemical and scrape it off. I founf that my door frames had so many layers of paint over them that I just fired up the blow touch and used that with a scraper.

Once you fit new arcitrave then you could caulk up any gaps prior to painting. Jobs a goodun.

Thats what I have been doing to mine recently.

Although if you are trying to get them back to bare wood for staining its a mission and a half. I gave up on the one door I wanted to strip back and varnish and ripped the whole frame out and started from scratch.

You can by architrave already cut with tenon joint! (i think thats what they are called) a bit dearer than cut your own. If you are going to cut your own use a mitre bos or something too.

rob

Cheers rob

It's my first house, so trying I cut costs by doing things myself.

I'll attempt sanding the frames so I can varnish them, see how it goes

I'm doing things in this order:

Coving
Flooring
Architrave
Skirting

That way I get a flush finish all round, is that the way to do it?

Cheers

I would second what Rob said.