Ariston EuroCombi SX20 (4711602) Multiple Problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm not a gas engineer but hope you can help me understand what is/might be wrong with the boiler in the house I bought recently in Bolton. I've found a few posts on this but nothing particularly helpful or conclusive.

The boiler outlet (condensate?) pipe runs constantly with water onto the roof below. It used to drip but now it's as if a tap is running with a low flow. I'm guessing this isn't right....

On top of that, when the central heating is on, it reaches the temp I've set it to on the dial (around 65 degrees) then goes off, then there is a loud clunk a couple of minutes later as the boiler lights again for about 20 secs before going off. Another 2 minutes later and it lights with a loud clunk again - ad infinitum until the timer turns the heating off. The boiler literally ignites every couple of minutes for the 2 and half hours the heating is set to be on in the evening. It's maddening. Again, I'm guessing this isn't right either; not the intrusively loud ignition noise and not the constant on/off cycle we have to endure....

Thirdly, when the heating isn't on there is a very strange whining/howling noise that happens every few minutes for a few seconds. At first i thought this noise was wind howling outside round the back of the house, but it in fact comes from the pipework in the boiler from what i can tell now, and can be heard throughout the house, and is bloody frustrating. Any thoughts?

The pressure reads on/around 3 bar all the time.
The hot water works fine.
The radiators are fully bled (done while the system was off and cold)

Advice greatfully received.

Sponsored Links
Either your filling loop has been left open or your plate heat exchanger is shot.
Look at FAQs
Sort this out first then look at any other problems.