Artex or multi-finish?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry guys,as a beginner I know we can plaster ceilings (I have done), but why are we not using artex. I have never done this. Can you successfully obliterate the old artex, is it put on the same way? ie use a PVA coat first?

Sponsored Links
Sorry guys,as a beginner I know we can plaster ceilings (I have done), but why are we not using artex. I have never done this. Can you successfully obliterate the old artex, is it put on the same way? ie use a PVA coat first?

Artex is out of fashion, that's all.

Builders loved it because it was quicker and cheaper than plastering, and you didn't have to paint it before selling the unit.

By obliterate do you mean cover over the old artex with finish (covered exensively if you search) or cover it with new artex?

The latter would not work, or at least I can't see it working unless the original was a very flat artex

Artex can be put on with roller, we put on with trowel and use a 18" square stipple - a bit like a hawk with a load of rubber bristles on it that you bang and twist on the ceiling ( for want of better description!!) It has a long handle so you just walk around the room ,and pull a brush on celing lines/around fittings etc. Various other finishes, with sponges, spatulatas, brushes, rollers etc.

You used to have to mix it warm and let it stand and re mix it IIRC but now cold mix - haven't dome any for maybe going on ten years -but skimmed over rplenty!!

Thanks for that. Yes, when I said successfully obliterate I did mean using artex, over the old. I take it you dont have to use a stipple or other finish, can it not just be flattened out with a trowel just like when plastering for a flat finish?

Sponsored Links
Artex is old fashioned & awful stuff &, as Micilin says, invented solely to allow tight a rsed builders to save on the cost of plastering; coving isn’t much more fashionable now either. :LOL: