Attic flooring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi long time since I've been here but need more advice so where else to come to?
I have been renovating my tired old French farm house for a few years now and am about to start some work in the Attic. I say attic but there used to be two rooms up there. One side has had a new floor put down over the living room. To do this they removed the lath and plaster ceiling and put down new or de-nailed and reused the oak joists and laid a t&g pine floor.. to be fair it looks OK considering its only pine no knot hole or anything like that :mrgreen: . Now I want to do the same over the bedroom side of the house only I don't want to take down the lathe and plaster ceiling, so I intend lifting the very old and badly worn floor boards and replacing them with new pine boards which I have bought and had sitting in the room for more than a year.. time to get a move eh! :mrgreen: I thought to avoid any damage to the lathe and plaster I would cut the boards along the line of the joist and then de-nail the last bit. sound ok? To fix the new boards to the oak joists I was looking for advise should I secret nail it with brads from a pneumatic nailer or buy a drill bit which counter sinks the hole at the same time and secret screw the boards down ? Also they do some sort of fibre material which fits on top of the joist before fitting the new boards is it worth buying some of that and using it? Really appreciate any help.
many thanks
J

Sponsored Links
Actic over a living room? Is it a bungalow or do you have the living room on the 1st floor?

Are you concerned enough to have rewired and re plumbed everything you need and want, just that a new floor really should be the last bit of the puzzle and some do things the wrong way round.

Now most lathe and plaster is old, my 1910 house has ceilings and I'd be very weary that over the course of the works some plaster will blow.

How old is the place?

Does it need insulation?