Automtic Bleed Valve

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a plumbing novice! Can anyone advise me about an automatic bleed valve?

I have a manual bleed valve on top of the vent pipe next to my hot water tank and above my Grundfos 15-60 pump that I recenlty installed.

I am having to bleed the pump and bleed valve daily due to a build up of air.

Would an automatic bleed valve on top of the air stack pipe overcome this? I have seen air sperators advertised but know little about these?

Can anyone advise me?

Sponsored Links
yes it would help greatly .. but why is it building up all the time ??

I am not sure. I think it is becasue the new pump is not as worn as the old one which I took off?

It must be sucking air in from somewhere? Once bled the heating and hot water work perfectly?

Would the auto bleed valve be better than an air seperator?

How many rads do you have.....a 15/60 is a large domestic pump.

Auto air vents are a mythh, they cure the symptoms to a promlem but not the root cause. i be looking at why your system is getting air. is the new pump correctly installed and the head facing the correct orientation?is the pump pumping the right way round the system? is it set to the correct speed? Are the cold feed and openvent the correct configuration? is the system producing excessive amounts of hydrogen? Is the system pumping over? is Pump inertia sucking in air on start up?

These are all things you need to check before slapping an auto air vent on.

Sponsored Links
I have 7 rads over 3 floors. I installed the pump as it was the same speed as the one I took off.

I think it is pump inertia sucking air in on start up as it works great once I bleed it. the air builds when I stop and start the pump.

I have the pump on the lowest speed and the hot water circulates well.

Is there anything I can do to prevent the pump inertia sucking air in on start up ?

I would really appreciate any advice anyone can offer me?