Banister advice for unusual staircase + pics

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

newbie here, so please be gentle.

We are almost finished a loft conversion in our 300 year old cottage, and have installed a custom steel and elm staircase (hopefully shown below).

Obviously, we need a banister of some description, which is OK with building regs.

I would ideally like glass, but have a nasty feeling that this will cost a fortune. I'm just really looking for advice as to what you lovely people think would look good - I want to keep the 'floating' and open style of the stairs as far as possible.

Does anyone know a good supplier that would supply appropriate glass, and a ballpark figure (hundreds? thousands? :eek: )

Many thanks for any suggestions.

dj

Sponsored Links
What can look nice and possibly tending a bit towards the industrial rather than the domestic is polished stainless steel standards and handrail with tensioned stainless cable mid-rails 3 or 4 number, lightweight construction and would keep the 'open' effect, but maybe not the effect you want.

HTH

Alan

Hi Alan,

Thanks for your reply - I had been thinking about this actually, but then I saw a glass banister and fell for that instead.

Do you have any idea of price? or is it one of those 'how long is a piece of string' questions. Do you think stainless steel would look OK with the unpolished steel? Can you buy these off the shelf, or would I have to have it made?

We also replaced all the beams with elm, so we were thinking about using some of those as vertical posts - sorry not sure what they are called!

Thanks for your help.

dj

Couldn't say how much it would cost, only think it would be difficult to do as from your picture the stair appears to have a curve to it so glass doesn't go round corners cheaply. The glass would also need to be toughened so more expense.