Bath Frame Problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am fitting an ideal standard Tesi bath which has the ideal form plus coating making it stronger and warmer. The bath has a wooden batten on the inside edges which is encapsulated in fibre glass. I am trying to build a wooden frame to support this batten on the bath but the fibreglass which is encapsulating the batten is very uneven and so I can't just rest the bath on my level frame as the bath is would only be touching my frame in a couple of places. Any ideas on solutions to this? Help appreciated

Victor

Sponsored Links
Could you 'plaster' on some more fibre glass, to provide an even surface where needed? David's Isopan type of thing, for car body repairs.

Possible, although I've never used that before, I just had a thought about putting a layer of silicone or no nails on top of the wood frame to take up the difference but don't really want to have the bath stuck to the frame unless I use a plastic membrane between silicone and wood. I am head scratching at the moment.

why don’t you want the bath stuck to the frame?

Sponsored Links
You can guarantee if I stick it to frame next day i will need to get bath out for some reason.

if you mean a frame going around the wall, then you really should silicone the bath to it to stop any movement and creaking.
if you mean a timber frame behind your bath panel then you’ll be able to disassemble it easily enough.
if your not confident enough in your own installation maybe you should get someone in.

Yes, a frame around the wall, I will silicone when I'm sure everything is correct. The fixing kit which came with the bath also came with 4 legs which are meant to support the bath edge as well, if I install them I will have to cut sections out of my frame, so would it be better to install these legs on the bath or leave them off.

can you post a pic.
the legs normally support the outside edge.

Here's the pic.

Attachments

• 1598773778846288583392.jpg