Bathroom radiator nightmare

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all.

I'm in the process of putting a new bathroom in and I'm having a few issues with installing a new towel radiator. I'm not sure if it's because I'm doing something wrong or it's because ive bought a cheap radiator and valves. I'm relatively new to the world of plumbing so forget any incorrect terminology.

The radiator came with a bleed valve and a blank with seals to go on the top corners.... no issue there. The fittings for the bottom(Not sure what they are called) have no seal on them at all. I wrapped a load of ptfe take around them and screwed them in as best i could , but when i fit the valves connected it all up it drips like mad. Ive been doing the bathroom on a tight budget so im wondering if it's because ive bought the cheapest radiator and valves i could find

Sponsored Links
Most likely not put enough wraps of PTFE . at least 12 full turns ,and sometimes more !! And it should be wrapped in the direction of the thread.

Most likely not put enough wraps of PTFE . at least 12 full turns ,and sometimes more !! And it should be wrapped in the direction of the thread.
that's what i thought the first time it started dripping. So i took it off and put loads on....seemed to make it worse... and speaking of making things worse... it looks like the olive is jammed solid right on the end of the pipe... will not budge one way or the other. Don't want to cut it off as I'll be struggling for length

Last edited:
Which part is leaking? Is it where the tail screws into the radiator, or where the valve screws onto the tail, or where the pipe (probably with the olive in it) screws into the valve?

Sponsored Links
Which part is leaking? Is it where the tail screws into the radiator, or where the valve screws onto the tail, or where the pipe (probably with the olive in it) screws into the valve?