bathroom tiling

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
i intend to do up my bathroom.it looks dated and i want to make it look modern in comparison to how it is
so new white suite, old tiles off new ceramic 8mm thick wall tiles, 330mm square.,
its a bath ,no shower and the plasterboard is wrecked pulling the old tiles off.i will screw new 12.5mm p/bd to the stud, prime it (not with pva) and fix the tiles with flexi rapidset.the guy at topps is recommending their adhesive as opposed the bal i asked about as its only £11 a bag.
is the choice of adhesive a false economy? and should i use bal
2nd dumb question which side of the p/bd do i tile to the face of
thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
as a manager i would say go cheaper option but i know my guy will only use bal as he knows its good stuff.plasterboard is one sided these days so you will see the white face you prime and tile that.

i intend to do up my bathroom.it looks dated and i want to make it look modern in comparison to how it is
so new white suite, old tiles off new ceramic 8mm thick wall tiles, 330mm square.,
its a bath ,no shower and the plasterboard is wrecked pulling the old tiles off.i will screw new 12.5mm p/bd to the stud, prime it (not with pva) and fix the tiles with flexi rapidset.the guy at topps is recommending their adhesive as opposed the bal i asked about as its only £11 a bag.
is the choice of adhesive a false economy? and should i use bal
2nd dumb question which side of the p/bd do i tile to the face of
thanks in advance

bal stuff is the best but the tops stuff aint that bad mate

Use Moisture Resistant PB in the bathroom not standard wall board. Use waterproof tile backer board in wet areas unless you tank it if you want it to last; costs no more once you factor in the tanking. Don’t plaster the tile base but you need to prime MR PB before plastering if you’ve any ½ tiled walls. Fix tiles to the light paper side of the PB; some PB has “plaster this side” on it so that’s the side you tile